Elizabeth Hamilton (1758-1816)

Elizabeth Hamilton (1756?–1816) was a Scottish essayist, poet, satirist and novelist. She was most probably born on 25 July 1756, though the date is often given as 1758. Born in Belfast to Charles Hamilton (d.1759), a Scottish merchant, and his wife Katherine Mackay (d.1767), she lived most of her life in Scotland, moving there in 1762 to live with a Mrs Marshall, her paternal aunt, near Stirling and spending much of her later life in Edinburgh. She died in Harrogate in England after a short illness.

Her first literary efforts were directed in supporting her brother Charles in his orientalist and linguistic studies. After his death in 1792 she continued to publish orientalist scholarship, as well as historical, educationalist and theoretical works. She wrote The Cottagers of Glenburnie (1808), a tale which had much popularity in its day, and perhaps had some effect in the improvement of certain aspects of humble domestic life in Scotland. She also wrote the satirical novel Memoirs of Modern Philosophers (1800), and the anti-Jacobin Letters of a Hindoo Rajah in 1796, a work in the tradition of Montesquieu and Goldsmith. Her most important pedagogical works are Letters on Education, Essays on the Human Mind (1796), Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education (1801), Letters addressed to the Daughter of a Nobleman, on the Formation of Religious and Moral Principle (1806), and Hints addressed to the Patrons and Directors of Schools (1815).

Elizabeth Hamilton Library Average
Circulation records from 1793-1799 are lost.
Books by subject area
As classified in the 1813 Library Catalog.

Check out duration
Circulation Activity
Books by subject area
Check out duration
Elizabeth Hamilton Library Average
Back to Top

The New York
Society Library

53 East 79th Street
New York, NY 10075
212.288.6900
reference@nysoclib.org

Hours of Operation

Monday / Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday / Wednesday / Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday / Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Holiday Closing:
Easter Sunday

The Library is closed all day Sunday, April 4, for Easter. Otherwise we observe normal hours.
 
© Copyright The New York Society Library | Privacy Policy